Lexington, KY – October 22, 2012 – Now just around the corner, the Alltech National Horse Show, scheduled for the Alltech Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, Kentucky on October 30 – November 4, 2012, will feature a world-class field of top national and international open jumpers, competing for some of the biggest purses on the fall indoor tour.

McLain Ward, pictured above on Antares F at the London Olympic Games, will be competing at this year’s Alltech National Horse Show. Photo by Sue Stickle.

The $475,000 Open Jumper division is highlighted by the $50,000 Triumph Project Welcome Stake Sponsored by The Davis McCullough Foundation, the $75,000 Double H Farms Jump-Off class, the $60,000 Chartis Insurance Company Speed class, the Alltech Puissance and of course, the $250,000 Alltech Grand Prix, an FEI World Cup qualifying event.


Topping the star-studded roster are United States Olympians, McLain Ward, Beezie Madden, Laura Kraut, Reed Kessler, Charlie Jayne, Lauren Hough and Margie Engle. Joining the Olympians at this year’s show is Pan American Games Individual Gold medalist, Christine McCrea.


Ward, Kessler and Jayne will be competing with their 2012 London Olympic partners in Kentucky. Ward will pilot Antares F, Kessler has entered Cylana and Jayne will be riding Chill R Z. McLain Ward and Beezie Madden, both two-time Olympic Team Gold medalists, are two of our most decorated Olympic athletes. Madden will have both Simon and Amadora in Lexington.


Laura Kraut, a member of the Hong Kong Gold medal United States Olympic team has entered Woodstock O and Teirra. Meanwhile, Lauren Hough, who competed for the U.S. in the Games at Sydney, Australia, brings Quick Study and Ohlala. Engle, also a member of the Sydney Olympic squad, will ride Royce and Indigo at the Alltech National Horse Show.


Kent Farrington and Up Chiqui winning the Speed Stake at last year’s Alltech National Horse Show. Photo by Shawn McMillen

Returning to Lexington is Kent Farrington, who guided Up Chiqui to an exciting speed win last year. This year, he’s reloaded with his two rising stars, Uceko and Venus.


Other top national riders confirmed for this year’s Alltech National Horse Show include Candice King, Aaron Vale, Katie Prudent, Cara Raether, Kirtsen Coe and Molly Ashe-Cawley.


The best young guns, America’s future Olympic stars, dot the 2012 roster as well, including Jessica Springsteen, Nicholas Dello Joio, Katie Dinan, Andrew Welles, Kaitlin Campbell and Catherine Pasmore.


The international spotlight will shine on Daniel Bluman of Colombia, Tim Gredley of Great Britain, Russia’s Lubov Kotchetova, Richard Maloney of Ireland, Brazil’s Paulo Santana,

Olivier Philippaerts, winner of the Million Dollar International at the Spruce Meadows Masters will compete at this year’s Alltech National Horse Show. Photo by Holly Burns

Shane Sweetnam of Ireland, Emilie Martinsen of Denmark and twin brothers Nicola and Olivier Philippaerts of Belgium.


The Alltech National Horse Show will also feature two highly competitive jumper sections highlighting the top Junior Jumpers riders and the best Amateur Jumpers competitors in the nation, sponsored by Deeridge Farm and Chansonette Farm, respectively. The best of both of those divisions will battle head to head in Pasmore Stables $50,000 Show Jumping Hall of Fame JR/AO Championship on Saturday afternoon.


The Alltech National Horse Show will be held at the beautiful, new Alltech Indoor Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington.

Founded in 1883 at the original Madison Square Garden, the National Horse Show is America’s oldest indoor horse show, firmly established as a major fixture on the national and international sports and social event calendars. The National Horse Show Association’s primary activity is the annual production of the National Horse Show and all ancillary events. Over the years, the National Horse Show has provided financial aid to many worthwhile charities.


For more information on the National Horse Show Association of America, Limited, please visit  www.nhs.org.